Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Friday, March 27, 2015

Review of Aquarius Addiction by Rosie Amber

A huge thank you to Rosie Amber for her great review of Aquarius Addiction.


Aquarius Addiction is a romantic suspense set in and around New Orleans. Arlette Xylander is a psychic who helps the FBI in cases they cannot solve. She's just been called into a new case on the very day she's had bad news about her own health. She meets Andre Rossouw, older brother of a young missing girl. There is an instant spark of romance between the pair but with Arlette's health news and Andre being a client any future for the pair is a no-go.

Arlette lives in an old house inherited from her Aunt. She's left Arlette the house and a mystery to solve. The house is haunted, but Arlette isn't frightened.


Susanna is the missing girl that Arlette must find, she goes to the family home and hopes for some visions to give her clues. She gets a couple of glimpses and does a sketch for a photo ID fit, plus she has a couple of names to work on.

The photos cause trouble for Arlette when she's the victim of a hit and run that leaves her in hospital. However she believes she's got a lead as things soon start hotting up in the search for Susanna.

In Arlette's personal life the appearance of a Voodoo priestess has it's own mysteries and her Aunt urges her to find the women again.

I enjoyed this mystery particularly the links to New Orleans and the Voodoo, plus the sizzling romance between Arlette and Andre which was fun.

Happy to give this 4*'s.

Buy it Here

Follow Rosie here:

Sunday, March 8, 2015

Review - On Angels Wings by Heather Adams

This is a wonderful debut novel, and the first in a series. The author has a masterful way with words, and has woven true historical events into this period romantic suspense novel about a love that endures everything.


In eighteenth century Britain, a mother dies and leaves her child, Angela, alone and without anyone to support her. Her philandering and heavy drinking stepfather steals all the money and sells her to a brothel. Being a spirited young woman, Angela refuses to accept her fate, and in time, she meets Duke Monroe Enderby, and discovers the delights of falling in love.

The two are secretly married, only to be torn apart by injustice, war, and a jealous servant.

With Monroe away fighting the war, Angela gives birth to a son, Weylin. Years pass, and in time, they travel to the New World, where Weylin becomes involved with the Sons of Liberty.

This story is a must read. Follow the two lovers as they live their own Odyssey. Will they ever be reunited? And what is the secret of the wolves?


Here's the link to buy it. 

Wednesday, February 4, 2015

Aquarius Addiction - Review by Joan Ellis

UK psychological thriller author Joan Ellis just sent me this wonderful review for Aquarius Addiction. I am thrilled with it. 


Tight, taut and thrilling, Trish Jackson at her best.

Trish Jackson can tell a tale. Birth, death, love and hate form the bedrock with a generous helping of Voodoo, kidnap and murder thrown in to spice things up. Trish Jackson deals as expertly as ever with all the elements in this fast, sexy romance. Her fans will love this book and the gutsy story-telling is guaranteed to garner her even more readers.

Meet FBI Psychic Arlette Xylander. No ordinary agent.

When she discovers she’s terminally ill, far from buckling under, she behaves like a typical Aquarius, telling no-one, fighting back and vowing to beat the disease.

What a time for her to meet the gorgeous Andre who needs her help finding his sister who has been missing for four years. She feels an electric connection with him and puts him first on her Bucket List. Just one problem - his fiancée.

Of course, nothing is quite what it seems and there are plenty of twists and turns along the way.

Trish Jackson does what she does best, expertly leading the reader through a maze of events before finally, wrapping up the loose ends as neatly as any good cop.

To give more clues to the story would spoil the plot.


If you like your romances tinged with danger, told tight and taut, this one’s for you.

Get it now from Amazon

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Review - Passion in the Kitchen by Cynthia Ainsworthe

Front Row Center's Passion in the Kitchen is a cookbook with a difference, guaranteed to bring an extra spark into your relationship!


The author is an accomplished cook who specializes in French cuisine, and she is also an award-winning writer of a suspenseful and passionate romance novel, Front Row Center, which is currently being adapted into a screenplay.

The recipes are all tried and tested by the author, and are not too complex for the average home cook. The categories include 'Appeteasers', 'Warm up Foreplay' and 'Between the Sheets'. Each recipe includes a mouth-watering illustration, and all have suggestive names like 'Smooth Caresses', 'Sublime Joinings', 'Love Wand of Ecstasy' and 'Sweet and Lustful'.

Interspersed with photos of food is a generous serving of pictures of delectably hot men.

But that's not all... Every recipe ends with a "Cooking Break" - lines of flirtation taken from the novel, Front Row Center. 

Example: 'Cooking break! 
That’s all right,” she replied softly. “You want some of my …” she opened her palm, “… nuts?”
He blew out a ragged breath.'

If you are looking for something to spice up your life, look no further. 

I received an advance review copy in exchange for an honest review.

Purchase Link

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Pre-Release Reviews for Backwoods Boogie

I'm very thankful for the wonderful people who have taken the time to read and review Backwoods Boogie, my upcoming third book on the Redneck P.I. Series. A couple of people are still reading it, and here are the ones that have been posted on Goodreads only because it won't be available on Amazon until November 14th.


Here is the pre-order link for Amazon:
Backwoods Boogie


Twila Taunton, redneck detective, reluctantly joins forces with her ex-fiancée to solve the mysterious murder of British resident, Janice Woodward.

Sensing an innocent woman was setup for the crime, Twila assembles a small group of trusted friends and specialists to dig deep and unearth the truth, and needs all her sass and guile to overcome the many challenges they hit along the way.

Backwoods Boogie, the third in the Redneck Series, is a fast-paced journey that spans America’s Deep South to the rainy reaches of Northern Europe, and keeps you reading on and guessing throughout. The characters are wonderfully vivid and you’re transported directly into their gritty setting, observing them first-hand as they slowly piece together the puzzle – but can they do it in time?

This book will appeal to anyone who enjoys well-written detective stories and wily whodunits.


Lee Bullen, Author, UK

****

If you are looking for a delightful story packed full of an eclectic group of witty characters, Backwoods Boogie is the book for you.

Twila Taunton, self proclaimed detective of the Redneck P.I. Agency, is hired to help her friend Pam Taylor. Pam has been imprisoned for a murder Twila is sure she didn't commit. To make matters worse Pam's attorney is Jimmie-Ray, the man that left Twila standing at the alter.

Murder, Motorcycles, Aunts Gone Goth and Baby Scares, Oh My!

Flat out Fun! Trish Jackson once agains provides a captivating cast that will having you laughing out loud. A perfect balance of mystery, sexual spice and action makesBackwoods Boogie a wonderfully engaging read. 

Beth at Tome Tender Blog

****

I was pleasantly surprised by Backwoods Boogie. To be honest, I'm not usually a fan of real hard-core country books but for the most part I didn't mind it in this one. At times, Twila's rather butch demeanour did get on my nerves but the story was fast-paced enough that I quickly got over it. This book reminded me a little of Charlene Harris and her writing style so if you're a fan of hers you should enjoy this one.

I did quite like how the last page of every chapter contained a perspective from another character, it did fill in a lot of the plot and provide insight and depth into the characters. The supporting cast was fun.

I don't quite see why Twila had to travel to London, I think that was perhaps my least favourite part of the book but it was brief. The plot was captivating and action-packed for the rest of the book I thought.

Overall, I enjoyed reading this. It was fun and wild and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good mystery with a hint of romance and a lot of crazy

Jules dePlume, Author

Thanks to those three wonderful people, and I'll be adding more when they come. Currently there are two others reading a pre-release version.


Monday, September 22, 2014

Review- Iam Ella. Buy me. by Joan Ellis

Ella David is a lost soul. She is not really sure who she is or what she wants from life. She is in a relationship with the handsome up-coming rock star, Tom, but is it really love that she feels for him? And is he committed enough to their liaison to be faithful to her?

The only two truly meaningful people in her life are Wally, the elderly caretaker at work, and Adam Hart, a friend who shares her passion for chocolate and other treats that appeal to the sweet tooth.

This story is set in the time before the terms 'politically correct' or 'sexual harassment at the workplace' had been dreamed up. Ella is in a dead-end job as an advertising copywriter, with a horny boss, Peter Richards, who makes shameless sexual advances on the women he works with, and proudly boasts of his sexual prowess. Ella has thus far managed to stay out of his bed, but when she is in danger of losing her job, he tries to blackmail her into a 'little arrangement" on the side.

Peter's antics and the other eccentric characters Ella has to deal with put her in some hilarious situations. The book is well-written and fun to read.

Four stars.

Friday, September 12, 2014

Review -- The Killing of Mummy's Boy by Joan Ellis

When Sandra's only son witnessed a murder, and testified about it in court, he had to go into the witness protection programme. Also fearing retribution, single mum Sandra has moved to a remote village on the Isle of White.She has not seen her son for more than three years.

A stranger strikes up a conversation with her on the train. He tells her his name is Ben, and that he once killed a man.  Despite her immediate fear of him, when he reaches up to stow her luggage, she is attracted to him. "Her eyes tracked the thin line of black hair that ran from his navel and disappeared under the waistband of his jeans."

While on the train, Sandra discovers she has lost her Oyster Card (travel card), and makes a phone call to order a replacement.

When she finally arrives home, she finds a new card has been slipped under her doorway. She realizes she gave out her address over the phone, and Ben—who admitted he is a murderer—must have made a note of it. The thought is both scary and exciting.

Her son calls and tells her he has given up the witness protection and is back in London, and someone breaks into Sandra's house, and starts stalking her…

I couldn't put this book down. It was impossible to guess the identity of the stalker, and the author did a wonderful job of projecting Sandra's terror, her protectiveness toward her son, and the emotional turmoil she experienced when she realized she was attracted to Ben.

I received a copy of the book in return for an honest review.

***** Five stars -- I loved it!!

Buy it on Amazon -- Click Here

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Review -- Loving Adonis by Sandi K. Whipple

Loving Adonis is a beautiful but frustrating love story about poor communication and jealousy.


Angie and Gary get together early in the story and over time they develop a deep and sensuous relationship. They don't just hop into the sack together. They go out, spend time getting to know one another, and do crazy things before their relationship turns serious and culminates in delicious, passionate and loving sex. A great, solid base for a lasting connection, you're thinking.


But no. One day Gary simply says "See Ya," and walks out on Angie.


She has no idea what has caused the sudden change in him, and although she tries to get on with her life and build up her flower business, she cannot forget the handsome man she has privately named 'Adonis'.


Gary cannot put Angie out of his mind either. But when they get back together, and things seem to be running smoothly again, the same thing happens. Just those two little words and everything is thrown into turmoil again.


Their greatest problem is that they do not communicate well. This leads to all sorts of wild and incorrect assumptions, which damage their relationship over and over until you, as a reader feel as frustrated as them.


The happy ending is full of twists and surprises that I couldn't foresee, and it made up for all the frustration.



Saturday, August 30, 2014

Review - Bluebonnets for Elly by Sandra Nachlinger

A Southern Romance.

Elly McCauley is helping her granny while she recovers from a broken ankle, and is living illegally with her in the senior complex in a small town in Texas.

When she meets the local landscaper, Derek White, tall, dark and deliciously Southern, the attraction is instant and mutual. They go out on a couple of dates and one thing leads to another… But they both have baggage from the past that hinders their relationship.




Elly moves out and doesn't give Derek her new address. She starts a new business helping seniors to sort through their junk and make money selling it on eBay. But she cannot forget those steamy kisses. Neither can he.

The characters are very real and most of them are such likable people I found that I just wanted things to work out for them. The author's depiction of life in a senior complex is very vivid and true to life, and I loved Granny.

The love scenes are passionate, but tastefully written, and the author makes good use of sexy nuances.

Get it here on Amazon

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Review - Doctor January by Rhoda Baxter

I labeled this book, Doctor January,  'Un Put-Downable' on Amazon and that's the truth. I just wanted to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen.


   Beth Tyler suddenly has one of those moments with her co-worker, Hibs. You know them. The sudden realization that the guy who has always been your friend is actually really hot.

   And then, just at that moment, her longtime boyfriend, Gordon, returns unexpectedly from the US, and their relationship picks up where it left off six months ago. There's no denying it, Gordon is really good-looking, with his muscular swimmer's body and handsome face, which kind of makes up for his possessiveness and mood swings. It's just because he loves her so much, Beth reasons. 
 
 Hibs, who is hopelessly in love with Beth, can only stand on the sidelines, desperately wishing Beth would realize that Gordon is a malicious bully.

   As a fundraising exercise for Women in Science, Beth and the other members are busy compiling a calendar of hot male scientists. When Doctor January withdraws close to the production deadline, they have a crisis on their hands… Who do they choose? Hibs or Gordon?

   The characters are very real, and the author has a great way of drawing the reader in and making them care what happens, and I look forward to the reading next one.

My favorite passage from the book:
"She scrolled through more images, and suddenly there was one (of Hibs) where he wasn't looking away. He looked out of the screen at her, brow slightly furrowed, his lips parted as though he was in the middle of a word.
She stared.
It was Hibs, but different. It was as though some of the familiarity had been stripped away, leaving behind a beautifully defined face with high cheekbones and serious grey eyes. Was this really the guy she worked next to and joked with every day?"


My rating: ☻☻☻☻☻(Five happy faces = five stars.)

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Review - Sex, Lies and Beauty Aides by Deb Julienne

This romantic comedy is bubbling with fun.


Writer Sabrina Thompson's new boss, the pompous Travis Wellington, tells her she will have to take over and write an advice column about sex and love.

This poses a huge problem, because Sabrina is a virgin. She hasn't even ever had a serious relationship.

She wishes her new boss could be Travis' twin brother, Trent, on whom she has had a crush for three years. What she doesn't know, is that Trent is actually standing in for his brother, and posing as Travis.

Their relationship evolves as she confides in 'Travis' about her crush on Trent and her predicament in writing the sex column.

I found the characters totally believable and this was a fun, enjoyable and light-hearted read. I cried at the end.

My Favorite line: "A man's idea of romance is to bullshit their way through life with the sincere hope you're so in love with them you'll be blinded to their flaws." (Kat.)

A great job for a new author. My rating: ☻☻☻☻☻(Five happy faces = five stars.)

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Buy it now: Amazon
                              Barnes & Noble
                               http://www.debjulienne.com/

Monday, June 30, 2014

Review - Reflections of Mamie by Rosemary (Mamie) Adkins

Reflections of Mamie


A Story of Survival


Shocking and Heart-Rending


From the time Mamie was a baby, her mother was inflicted with an insane desire to hurt her. She hurt her in every way possible—with savage physical beatings and blistering, demoralizing verbal attacks. When Mamie finally got the courage to report her, she was not believed. I can understand why. Nobody in their right mind would do what Mamie's mother did to her child.

Her mother was exceptionally adept at knowing Mamie's every move, and was able to thwart each and every attempt at escape, until at last, after several attempts, Mamie finally made it to Florida. I heaved a sigh of relief. Thank goodness she had managed to get away and was free at last. But did she stay away? No. When Mamie couldn't make it on her own, rather than allow her boyfriend's kind and willing parents to help her, Mamie went back to her mother.

Abusers seem to have some instinctive ability to recognize victims of abuse, and target them, so it did not surprise me to read that Mamie's husband beat her.  What I found particularly disgusting was that Mamie's mother aided and abetted him.

I found it very hard to understand why Mamie kept going back to her mother. Why couldn't she cut the ties that bound them forever and leave and never look back?

Two ultra-powerful emotional forces were at work here. Mamie's unconditional love for her mother, and her desperate need for her mother's love—or at least approval; and her mother's uncontrollable passion to inflict pain on Mamie.

I wish I could say this is fiction, but it's all true. I can only say Mamie, you are definitely a survivor and an amazing person, and I am so happy you've found your knight in shining armor. 

My rating: ☻☻☻☻☻(Five happy faces = five stars.)

Buy it from Amazon Here